Songs…..Man

High Society

Why didn’t the lifeguard save the drowning hippy?

Because he was too far out man.

I recently upgraded my computer to Windows 10, and at first it was really buggy and shit was not working. I eventually used a 1TB external HD to back up my important files before I “reset” the computer.

In the long run of trying to figure out everything I lost about 11,000 songs. My worst fear. Not really, but music was something I didn’t want to lose. Lucky for me a friend of mine in Washington has a copy of my music library, it’s going to be a long process but I don’t think that the music is lost forever.

Songs man…Songs and shit bro…Like yea man.

You ever hear a song and you were like, “Oh man, I remember this fucking song, this song is the shit,” and your friend is giving you a weird look thinking to themselves, “No, no man, this song is not the shit, its a pile of shit.”

I’m going through my music library figuring out what I have left…blah blah blah.

I just happen to play ‘Kottonmouth Kings – We the People’ and all these memories came rushing back to me. I remembered them like I was there.

I listened to this song all the time back in 2004ish.

I was living in Washington, in a suburb of Tacoma that many can refer to as the ghetto. I lived with my ex, my kid was about 1 year old; I would take him to daycare and pick him up after college, I was going to school for mechanical engineering, my friend Jody, who was a guy, from high school just happened to be going to the same college, we hung out all the time.

A song can be awesome to me and can be crap to you, and vise versa. The memories that are connected to a song are what make them important.

And you can’t see in my head, so I don’t expect you to understand. All you hear is the song.

The funny thing about that is, I had to force myself to listen to many songs and replace the memory with another memory because a lot of those song reminded me of my kids mom.

And just like my dad told me, “Time, time cures it”. Even those songs that do remind me of Heather do not make me sad anymore. I just think about her like I do any other person that I had contact with.

Leave a comment