You’re Not Thinking

You ever lay in bed looking at your phone and you’re touching your phones screen with your thumb moving it up, as you are scrolling though your news feed you see a picture that either says, “Like this if you would like to party here,” or a picture of a large and/or unique house that says, “Like this if you would like to live here.” Well I’m going to give you a perspective that most of you honestly don’t think about.

You liking one of these pictures does not mean that you hate me, I don’t think that my friends who share this type of photo hate me. I know the majority of my Facebook friends. I’m not one of those types that has 900 friends on Facebook, but only knows 10% of them.

The large majority of my Facebook friends live in Washington State, and at one point in my life I was at a party with them, they were in my car, I lived with them, worked with them; you know those type of people who you actually know.

Then you got my extended family, and fuck…there’s a lot of them. The majority of them are either removed from my news feed and/or restricted unless I publicly post/share something. I don’t want them to see what type of shit I post. I’m known to do stupid shit, stuff that my friends might think is funny…but I don’t need them to know that their cousin, brother, grandson, or nephew can be that dumb.

And the mass majority of my extended family live in Nebraska where you must be a republican who believes in God, some who are more extreme than others. And let’s be honest; I’m an Atheist who believes that people are people and deserve the same rights as every other human being…oh, there is also the idea that I think drugs should be legal, some harder to get then others, but still legal and treated as a medical issue, not a criminal issue that rarely solves the problem.

Mainly they are blocked from my news feed because I don’t know when to shut up. I don’t want to fight with 3 of them who think that Donald Trump is the second coming of Jesus or some shit.

Anyhow…I’ll admit, these houses are cool as hell; I’d love to live there. That location is awesome too, having a party there would be awesome. But guess what? I can’t do either of those things.

You don’t think about a wheelchair, and I don’t blame you; that’s like me thinking about how difficult it is to run in two feet of water, it’s not something I do.

And yes, I know, I’m aware that these type of pictures are fantasies and the likelihood of either happening is very small. I would like to do that type of shit too, but for me that would be more work then it’s worth just to be like, “Hey, look where I live.”

I understand this is not your intention, but when I see my friends share one of these type of pictures I cant help but think…

“Okay, so you’re telling me that if you ever get the opportunity to do something cool you’re not going to take me. Why…because I’m too much of a hassle?  You must not care about me as much as you say you do, because to me you just seem like someone that only cares about yourself and how much fun you’re having, you know…I’d like to do it too, but you might not have as much fun because you have to worry about rather I can get from point A to point B, and when I need to move I might need your help to do so.”

Yes, I know I’m taking it too far right? None of these picture indicate to me that any part of these picturesque situations are handicapped accessible. So yea, I know that you probably won’t ever be in the situation, I get that.

Just think about how those of us in wheelchairs might see it. The situation might be different, but you’re more or less telling us in a-round-about way that if you get the opportunity to do something cool,  I’m going to be the last person you think of.

You just want to have fun right?

Leave a Reply

