This is My Fuck You

And I hope you hear it.

To quote Peter Griffin may I say, “You know what grinds my gears? You America, fuck you.”

I’ve been pretty depressed the last few weeks and I do a fairly decent job at hiding it, mainly because…it’s my life and I have to get used to it, it’s what I know.

Over the past few months I’ve managed to gain a lot of resentment towards my past employer. They didn’t fire me, I was laid off. And yes, if I step into their shoes, and I could actually trust them…if you’re running out of money, you get rid of non-important assets, unfortunately sometimes that can be a human being that is relying on that job to live in a house.

I can’t just jump to another job like a lot of people seem to do. I don’t think people truly understand how hard it is for those of us with a mental and/or physical disability to find a job.

I can’t run, jump, skip, or walk. And that right there my friends takes about 90% of entry-level jobs and throws them out the 90 story window. And then…when I do get a job interview I’m often negatively stereotyped, even though no one claims to do such a thing.

So this is my place as a white American saying, “Yes, discrimination in America still exists, and don’t try to tell me it doesn’t.”

So, for those of us who have a disability and are “unemployable” we have the government that gives us money to live, sounds good right? Yes, but no. SSDI pays more than SSI and even then a full time job paying minimum wage pays me more than they do. Even then a job gives my life meaning, a lot of you who have jobs are thinking, “Oh man, I would love to sit at home and do nothing.” Do you know how depressing it is to stay home and do nothing? It’s good for a few days and all, but if you don’t have a job and feel as if you’re not needed to contribute to society it’s actually rather depressing.

People tend to fall in love with me, even with this set back I tend to have an amazing personality that most people tend to be attracted to once they see it. I’m amazed that I’m not more depressed than I am.

So I live off of disability…I don’t want to…I want to have a job. Many would say, “Get off your ass and go get a fucking job.” So, give me a fucking job ass fucking hole. I want a goddamn job dude, and then when I go try to get a job…

I sit there staring at the digital job board and as I’m scrolling thought it and as I sit there I honestly think to myself, “Well I can’t do that job.” As 20 jobs are going up the screen I might find one that makes me think, “Yea I might be able to do that job with reasonable accommodation,” then as I’m reading the description for the next job I’m back to, “Well I can’t do that job either.”

Then after applying to 30 jobs I might be lucky enough to get a job interview. But when the hiring manager says my name I can always see them thinking, “Oh fuck, he’s in a wheelchair.” They do there thing, they give me an interview and claim reasonable accommodations but never call me back and then when I do call back I’m stuck with the famous excuses, “Don’t call us, if we wanted to give you a job we would have called you,” or “We don’t think you have enough experience to do this job.” Well you know what motherfucker, it’s hard to get experience when no one gives it to you.

Then you got those employers who are extremely honest and say, “We don’t feel as if you could perform this job.” You don’t fucking know me! You don’t know what I can or can’t do. And reasonable accommodation is a very slippery slope that most people just don’t understand.

If a employer has to spend $50 on a chair, okay fine. But if they feel as if they need to spend $1,800 dollars just for me to do a job that pays me $1,600, that’s a loss of $200. Then when they feel as if they might end up in court based on a work place injury, that might not ever happen….they just don’t want to deal with that.

So I get the short end of the stick…again…and I’m fucking tired of it. Many people, that frankly don’t know always say, “Don’t give up,” But that’s easy to say when you don’t see what I see. And you know what, you can claim that you understand, but unless you too have a disability you don’t fucking get it.

That’s like me telling some black dude, “Yea, I understand what it’s like to be pulled over by a cop based on my skin color.” I don’t, and it’s not right for me to act like I do.

I’m not trying out for the NFL you assholes, I would not apply for a job if I didn’t think I could do it. But when I apply for 300 jobs and only get 7 interviews and they all say no…

I’m fucking tired of it. And I don’t know if this will even make you understand my situation.

Then you got those employers who say, “This guy has two college degrees, if we hire him he will want a lot of money.” Don’t assume motherfucker, you don’t know that I’m moving to Oregon soon. You don’t know that I’m just looking for a part time job that pays me under a certain amount.  If you have a question…fucking ask.

And Donald fucking asshat Trump is not going to make it any easier for those of us with disabilities to find a job.

You don’t want me to live on government assistance, neither do I…they don’t even give me enough to pay rent + utilities, forget about food, car payment, and car insurance. But you won’t give me a goddamn job, so it’s your fault that your paying taxes to give me money that allows me to live in a subsidized house.

And Oregon…public housing there is a goddamn apartment in the middle of the ghetto where I got to worry about being robbed at gunpoint. So I’m expecting a $400 rent increase by the time I get to a state closer to my immediate family, my son, pretty much every friend I have, and my fiance’s family actually lives in Oregon.

So to you employers that assume, and a lot of you do, and yes I understand (Well I don’t) but that is a $1,600+ assumption you’re making. Person B is better than person A. Yes, alright. But person A is fucking tired of you being the 200th person that didn’t even give him a chance. So to you that assume without knowing anything about what I can or can not do…Fuck you, it’s your fault that I’m living on government assistance.

2 thoughts on “This is My Fuck You”

  1. so with you here, I wanna say it just regarding the election. America, I was THAT close to forgiving you for Hiroshima, but not now. Now, fuck you. This election is unforgivable. Not trying to hijack your post with politics, I’m trying to empathize.

  2. Exactly! My hours were cut 2 years ago. I barely make enough to survive and now SSDI are screwing with me. First they claim they owe me and now they’re saying I owe them. I’m damned if I work, I’m damned if I don’t.

Leave a Reply

