That Great Feeling

So…I have a personal journal that I keep on my computer. Something that can help me figure out how I’m feeling, more or less a chance to talk to someone, myself, without being judged for what I might say or how I truly feel about something.

This morning I woke up with the idea that I had to take out the trash, do the dishes, wash clothes, and put away my section of said clothes. Which is all well and good…whatever. At some point I came to a stand still where I could not do anything because I was told not to until such and such, which is fine, but she was still in her wake up period.

So I went to the store to get a few things. While I was driving a few memories that didn’t really make sense were rushing through my head and I felt like I was at peace. And for most of the country it will most likely seem weird to you. The more I thought about it, the more I was able to figure out why I felt so good.

This morning was cooler then it has been lately. It was a cool 60 degrees with light winds, cloudy skies, and light rain.

As some of you know I moved to Washington State in the year 1998, I was 14 at the time. I did not get my drivers license until I was 17. My first car was a 1988 Mazda 323 which was then followed with a 1992 Acura Integra, but the kind of car has very little do to with this story.

Like most kids that just got their drivers license I was looking for any excuse to drive anywhere. Most of the time that excuse made no sense to anyone, but me, and the only reason it made sense to me was because I got to drive somewhere.

And…for those of you who happen to live in that area, and a few of my followers do. When I first got my license I was not allowed to drive on Meridian, 512, 410, 167, or I-5. At some point, like a year later it was okay for me to drive on Meridian.. Then at some point after that I just said, “Fuck it,” and drove where I wanted to.

And that is why I know Puyallup/Spanaway area like the back of my hand. I drove so much for unknown reasons that I leaned everything. And for someone that has to use GPS to get from point A to point B and back to point A that is saying a lot.

As some of you can figure out by now, the majority of the time that I went driving was when it was cloudy outside, and more then 80% of the time, if it was cloudy it was also raining.

I spent a lot of time in my car driving in a large circle from my house, down sunrise, down Shaw, up to 112th, 94th back to 160th going by Rogers High School and then repeating the same route in reverse order before ending up at home.

Most of that time I spent alone with my thoughts, I was able to process my feeling and figure out a way to cope with whatever was bothering me at the time.

I think that is why I felt at peace today as I drove to the store. It was cloudy, light rain, a light breeze. Totally remained me of Washington and being a careless teenager that didn’t have and real problems.

The only thing I’m missing is friends, evergreen tress, the idea of an ocean 20 miles away, and a 14,410 foot tall mountain that hid in the clouds 75% of the year.

If I had nothing to do…I would drive down by my old house, the one I lived in prior 1998, just drive for the hell of it. Maybe even get on I-80 and head towards Grand Island just for the hell of it. I actually felt good and I didn’t want it to end.

Leave a Reply

